What Does Success Look Like?

SuccessThey say that one of the first things you have to do when setting a goal is to define what success looks like. Not only am I going to define what it means to me, but I also need to identify what it does not mean.

What It Doesn’t Look Like

I am not embarking on this plan because I want to become a super athlete. I have no interest in running a 5K or a 10K or a marathon. I admire the people who do accomplish these goals, and applaud their successes. I know it is not for me. I am not an all-in type of person either. I am not a calorie counter, exercise logger, schedule maker. I am not obese and although I do have health issues, I am not suffering from severe health problems like diabetes or high blood pressure. I have not been brainwashed to believe that those too-skinny, unhealthy looking models are the way we should look. I am not planning to give up everything and make a 180° turn around. I know that this isn’t my personality and it isn’t my motivation.

What It Does Look Like

I want to be stronger. I want to be able to lift more and pull the lines on our sailboat without my arms feeling like jelly. To be able to walk and walk or bike and bike, and still have the strength to keep going. I want to be more flexible – so that I can move more easily and not have to think about every step I take to determine how my feet and knees need to move. I want to stop hurting. I want to be able to have pain-free days. Or hours. Heck, right now, I’d settle for 10 minutes without pain. I want to have a healthier digestive system and unforced breathing and less pronounced dark circles around my eyes and clearer skin. I want to have more energy. I want to be able to work all day and do something in the evening. I want to wake up rested and feel that I had a good night’s sleep and can put in a good day’s work or play.

That’s my motivation. That’s my focus. That’s my success.

Leave a Reply

